Names of the Royal City Literary Arts Society Write On! winners


The Royal City Literary Arts Society annually awards cash prizes for works of poetry, non-fiction and fiction

The Royal City Literary Arts Society has announced the winners of its annual Write On! competition.

The New Westminster-based group runs the competition every year, awarding cash prizes ($ 150, $ 100, and $ 75) to the top three entries in three categories: poetry, non-fiction, and fiction.

The three big winners this year were Natalie Hryciuk in poetry, for Without warning; Alexander Hamilton-Brown in non-fiction, for Angela’s diary; and Anne Ramallo in fiction, for Another rose gold sunset.

Winners and honorable mentions will be published in the company’s e-zine, Word games at work.


First place of poetry: Natalie Hryciuk – Without warning
Second place of poetry: PW Bridgman – Poetry doesn’t make anything happen, at least that’s what they say
Third place of poetry: Alvin Ens – The joys of golf

Honorable mentions in poetry
Madeline Ewanyshyn – The recipe
Gerald Murphy – Jack
Diana Hayes – Mister Raven and my tourmaline earring


First place in non-fiction: Alexander Hamilton-Brown – Angela’s Diary

Second non-romantic place: Evelyn Schofield – Bridges: Memories of Dad
Third place non-fiction: Jude Goodwin – The Big Red Bus

Honorable mentions except fiction
Celeste Snowber – Seagull Woman
Angela Post – Dear Covid-19
Angela Douglas – Ischia Lemons


First place in fiction: Anne Ramallo – Another Rose Gold Sunset
Second place in fiction: Kimberley Aslett – The Path to Forest Hill
Third place in fiction: Holly Quan – Holes

Fiction Honorable mentions
Alexander Hamilton-Brown – When Trees Could Walk: A Fable
Christine Cowan – Peppermint
Janaya Fuller Evans – City of Ships

Follow Julie MacLellan on Twitter @juliemaclellan.
Email Julie, [email protected]


Comments are closed.